Overview


Welcome to the Dashboard! The Dashboard will be the main focus of most users. Besides Schedule, the Dashboard will have everything you will need to set up a capture and go. In this article you will learn about the different parts that make up the Dashboard, and what you can do with them.


Status Bar

Located at the top left corner of the Dashboard page. This section of the Dashboard will show you what the system is currently doing. The status bar has three states: System Idle, Capture In Progress and Publishing.

  • Idle: the CaptureCast Pro is not processing any video and is ready for a capture.
    System Idle

  • Capture in progress: While a capture is in progress, standard information such as Title, Date appended to title and Time Elapsed will be shown. You have the ability to do a Live Preview, Pause/Resume, Stop and monitor audio visually through our Peak Programme Meter (PPM).

    System Status Panel
  • Pause - allows you to temporarily stop the capture and pick it up at a later point in time.
  • Resume - ability to resume capture when session was paused (button only shown when capture is in a Paused state)
  • Stop - completes the capture and starts the publishing processes to the specified publishing sources.
  • Live Preview - allows you to actively view the video and listen to the audio as the capture is in progress. When using live preview you will be able to view the Main Media (mixed source) as well as each source independently of each other. Of course the sources must be selected as "Source copies" in the template phase for this option to appear.

Note: We use a low resource player to Live Preview your capture session. The quality of the live preview is not the same quality as the finished product.*

Live Preview Example

  • Publishing: The unit is currently publishing the media to YouTube, Vimeo, Kaltura, Opencast, Panopto etc
    Publishing Example

Upcoming Scheduled Recordings

Located directly below the Status Bar, the Upcoming Scheduled Captures section displays the next 10 captures that are scheduled to take place.Upcoming Capture Table

By clicking on the cog at the far right of each capture you will be able to edit or test the template and edit or delete the event. We will discuss the functionality of these options in later sections (**Templates** and Schedule).
Upccoming Capture Actions

 


Latest Recordings

This section will show the last 10 recordings. Each recording will be displayed with recording title and the date it was captured.

Latest Recordings Table

To the right of the capture date, there is a cog. Click on this icon and you will see a small menu of options. These are the exact same options given to you in the Manage page.

Latest Recordings Actions

  • Preview: you can view the recording.

  • Edit: you are able to edit information about the recording, such as the recording title, the video segmentation and “Optical Character Recognition” (OCR) information.

  • Republish: will bring up the publishing information window, and allow you to publish the recording to the selection of publishing sources such as YouTube, Vimeo, Kaltura, Opencast, Panopto etc.
  • Download: allows you to download the selected sources to the computer you are using.
  • Download All: Downloads all captured video sources at once. (must have redundant sources enabled)
  • Delete: will delete the recording
  • Note: The next three actions are will only be available if you have set them to visible in the settings page. They are generally unused by the general public and mostly used for error hunting by our support staff.
  • Visualize: Allows you see the graph that is created as the capture process takes place

  • Analyze Media: Selecting this option will allow you to see detailed information about each file.
  • Download Logs: This option will be explained in much more detailed in the settings section but for now you should know that this option downloads a play by play of what is happening on your recorder during that capture.


Quick Capture

Quick Capture Panel

The Quick Capture is a great tool that will allow you to quickly begin a capture at any given moment. If there are no current captures, and you need to quickly begin a capture, all you need to do is enter a Title, select a Template from the drop down menu and checkmark Append date to title (optional). If no title was given, then a default title will be generated using the name of the recorder followed by the date and time. * Example: Manual capture for Demo Unit on March 11, 2014 16:30:43 for a unit named Demo Unit*

  • Once you have chosen the template and name, simply click the Start Capture button, and the capture will begin.
  • Note: Quick Captures will not appear on your Calendar page but will appear on the latest captures section.
  • If the Quick Capture would collide with the start of scheduled capture, the Quick Capture will stop and yield to the scheduled capture.


Next Capture

Next Capture Table

Under the Quick Capture section, if you have scheduled captures the Next Capture section will pop up. If you click Actions these will appear.

  • Start Capture: Starts the next scheduled capture at this very moment regardless of the actual scheduled start time.
  • Edit Template: Allows you to edit the template being used in this capture
  • Warning: When editing a template it edits the template globally not just for this capture.
  • Test Template: Run a quick 10sec capture using this template. Recorder must be in idle state to use.

  • Edit Event: Edit the scheduled capture here instead of through the schedule page
  • Delay Event: Push back an event and all events its conflicts with.
  • Bump Event: Set this event to start earlier than the pre-scheduled time.


System Status

Dashboard Status

At the bottom right of the Dashboard, you have the System Status section. This a small table that displays the specifics of the Cattura CaptureCast Pro. It shows you the IP (internet protocol) addresses, internet connection status , and the amount of storage space available.

When you have reached the 95% mark in storage the Start Capture button will become unusable and a notification will appear. Purge policies can be set so that this block never occurs by going to Settings-->Storage and adjusting settings.